Posted in Reading Habits

Reading Habits: Dr. Jim Wiseman


Dr. Jim Wiseman of the Mathematics Department is our next interviewee in the series.

“It’s a series of funny short stories. You’ll know after reading one or two whether or not you’ll like the collection – it’s kind of a unique sense of humor.”

As Dr. Wiseman spoke about one of his favorite series, comic short stories by P.G. Wodehouse, he lit up about the excitement that comes with finding a book that really strikes your interest.

He notes, “If you start something and you aren’t really moving along, just drop it. I learned that I don’t have to finish everything I start – the reading I do is for pleasure.”

Often during the busy semester for both professors and students it is easy to get wrapped up in work and never take time for leisure. Dr. Wiseman advises, “it’s important to pencil in an hour or two before bed to read and relax.”

The tendency we have to adopt a million things at once often means that we aren’t able to truly enjoy things. Dr. Wiseman advises busy people like himself make a list of all the titles that come into your head a given week amongst the recommendations that you get from your peers.

“I have to be organized. Otherwise, I’ll probably forget that truly great book a friend tells me about.”

Currently, Dr. Wiseman is reading the biography of Andrew Jackson, which he found browsing through McCain.

“Well, sometimes when I’m trying to decide what to read I try to find subjects that I know little about – I figure by the end, I’ll have learned something new…”

When asked what one of his all-time favorites was Dr. Wiseman replied that the thrilling assortment of novellas that are all interrupted but intertwined, Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell was definitely among the top few.

One thought on “Reading Habits: Dr. Jim Wiseman

  1. I love this series! So interesting to read professor’s literary habits outside of the classroom 🙂

    Though I mostly agree with Dr. Wiseman about figuring out how to drop a book if it’s not grabbing you, I hope that advice isn’t taken toooo closely. I know I might never call certain books my favorites now (e.g. anything by Edith Wharton or, on the other side of the spectrum, Henry Miller) if I hadn’t just pushed on through them. To further illustrate the point, I moaned and groaned about Tropic of Cancer as I read it — but it ended up being the focal point of my thesis project!

Leave a Reply

