Posted in Reading Habits

Reading Habits: Cathy Scott


Cathy Scott, Professor of Political Science, is an incredibly witty individual who always seems amused by the world around her. She has a great library of books in her office that are primarily focused on political theory and is the author of a book titled Gender and Development: Rethinking Modernization and Dependency Theory (Women & Change in the Developing World).  Her more recent work addresses the role of U.S. foreign policy and the construction of terrorism after 9/11. She also examines media depictions of the Iran hostage crisis of the late 70s/early 80s.  With weighty topics like these consuming her mind we suspected that she may enjoy escaping into the world of fiction occasionally.   Here is how Cathy Scott responded to our Reading Habits questionnaire:

Do you enjoy reading?  How would you describe yourself as a reader?

I love to read. I think of myself as a someone who finds intellectual excitement and challenge through reading. Reading also tends to calm me down.

What kind of books do you read for pleasure/entertainment?

I am pretty eclectic in my tastes. I tend toward mysteries and new/young writers who have made a splash, or more mature ones who have written something that gets rave reviews. I tend to rely on the NYT bestseller list, the New York Times Book Review, The Nation, The New Yorker, and The New Republic to help me decide on what to read.

Have you read anything recently that you would recommend?  Who do you think would like it?

The first two books in the Stieg Larsson (“Girl Who…”) trilogy were great.  Mr. Peanut by Adam Ross is crazy fun.  I am just getting around to Anne Patchett. I read Bel Canto this summer and found it interesting.

Do you have any memorable stories about reading that you can share?  For instance, was there a book that changed the way you read or did you struggle with reading as a child.

I used to read Dr. Suess books aloud and one of them was about bees buzzing. I buzzed so much that my parents had to ask me to stop. I remember being puzzled about why they would find 150 recitations of a Dr. Suess book annoying.

Where do you get your books from?  Bookstore, public library, Agnes Scott Library, download to an eReader, etc.

Some from the public library; online orders from Barnes and Noble; friends pass books along to me.

Leave a Reply

