Posted in Reading Habits

Reading Habits: Hiram Ramirez


As the Assistant Director for Campus Life & Intercultural Engagement, Hiram Ramirez is a familiar face to many on campus.  …

Here are his responses to our Reading Habits questionnaire:

Do you enjoy reading?  How would you describe yourself as a reader?

Yes!  I enjoy reading a lot.  I am constantly reading during my free time.

I would describe myself as an avid book reader.  I am always  looking for new books to read and checking-in on my favorite authors to see what new books they are attempting to publish.

What kind of books do you read for pleasure/entertainment?

I truly enjoy reading Fantasy/Sci-Fi books.  Anything with dragons and mages in it pretty much has me hooked.

Have you read anything recently that you would recommend?  Who do you think would like it?

I recently finished Kushiel’s Blessing by Jacqueline Carey.  I think anyone who is enjoys intrigue, compassion and a world where the motto is “love as thou wilt” would love this book.

Do you have any memorable stories about reading that you can share?  For instance, was there a book that changed the way you read or did you struggle with reading as a child.

One book series that changed my life was Dragonlance.  The three books in this trilogy where the first books that showed me it could be fun to read.  Once I devoured these books, my addiction to fantasy books has been unquenchable.

Where do you get your books from?  Bookstore, public library, Agnes Scott Library, download to an eReader, etc.

I enjoy to get my books at Barnes and Nobles when I have the time but I also have a Kindle so I can download my books on the spot when the need arises.

 Additional thoughts? Comments on how your reading habits connect to your classes or work with students?

I think that the reading I do in fantasy helps me to expand and push my creativity to new heights.  The books I read help me see the world in a different way and allow me to explore the various identities our amazing students here at Agnes could potentially be exploring!

Leave a Reply

